There was an error in this gadget

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Because it's the Cup: 2012 Robertson Cup predictions

By: Joey Battaino

It's the oldest trophy in junior hockey. The Chuck Robertson Cup has been awarded since 1976. The trophy is named after the former owner of the Paddock Pool Saints, who won the league championship seven straight years from 1976-1983.

The 2012 Robertson Cup Tournament is one for all you nostalgia fans out there. Four of the Six teams in this years field have previously won the Robertson Cup. (St. Louis 3, Texas 3, Bismarck 1, Fairbanks 1) In the 2011 Robertson Cup in Topeka, the four teams shared zero Robertson Cups.

Round Robin play starts on May 3rd with the defending champion Fairbanks Ice Dogs battling the 2007-09 Robertson Cup Champs, The St. Louis Bandits.

Now what you've been waiting for, the picks...
(the seed and what I think their record will be in RR play)

Pool A                                                   Pool B
#1 Amarillo 3-0                                    #2 Bismarck 1-2
#3 Fairbanks 2-1                                  #4 St. Louis 2-1
#5 Port Huron 1-2                               Host Texas 0-3

Pool A Final                                       Pool B Final

Amarillo 4 Fairbanks 2                     Bismarck 3 St. Louis 2

Robertson Cup National Championship Game

Bismarck 5 Amarillo 3

So there ya have it. I have Bismarck winning their 2nd national title. Their first came in 2010 in Wenatchee. Yes I am aware that I have Bismarck going 1-2 in Pool play yet winning the title. Remember what the Michigan Warriors did last year folks. Desperate hockey is championship hockey and I think the Bobcats get it done.

This is my personal blog and does not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Michigan Warriors, the NAHL, or any of it's Franchises. 

No comments:

Post a Comment